Friday, July 31, 2015

Forgotten Friday: Burn Out & Strange Skies by Kristi Helvig

This meme is about books that have been pushed aside while others have gone viral and made into movies. It can be old books, new books, any book that never got its (or enough) time in the spot light.

Synopsis for Burn OutMost people want to save the world; seventeen-year-old Tora Reynolds just wants to get the hell off of it. One of the last survivors in Earth's final years, Tora yearns to escape the wasteland her planet has become after the sun turns "red giant," but discovers her fellow survivors are even deadlier than the hostile environment.


Holed up in an underground shelter, Tora is alone--her brilliant scientist father murdered, her mother and sister burned to death. She dreams of living on a planet with oceans, plants, and animals. Unfortunately, the oceans dried out ages ago, the only plants are giant cacti with deadly spines, and her pet, Trigger, is a gun--one of the bio-energetic weapons her father created for the government before his conscience kicked in.

When family friend, Markus, arrives with mercenaries to take the weapons by force, Tora's fury turns to fear when government ships descend in an attempt to kill them all. She forges an unlikely alliance with Markus and his rag-tag group of raiders, including a smart but quiet soldier named James. Tora must quickly figure out who she can trust, as she must choose between saving herself by giving up the guns or honoring her father's request to save humanity from the most lethal weapons in existence.



Synopsis for Strange SkiesAction, adventure, and romance are heating up in this sequel to the futuristic science fiction thriller Burn Out. Perfect for fans of Across the Universe and The Memory of After.

Caelia is the new Earth. That's what the Consulate told everyone and, against all odds, Tora finally has made it there. She can't see the ocean from her cell in the Consulate's containment center, and she doesn't know what happened to the weapons her father died for and she's risked her life to save.

But as she plans her escape, she runs into the last person she ever expected to see-her dad. The Consulate has kept held him prisoner in a complicated plot designed to lure Tora out of hiding. Now Tora has a new purpose: break free, get the guns, and save her father.

But first she'll have to navigate a strange new planet, track down James (whose loyalties still remain questionable), and find Kale…before he finds her first.


You guys might have seen my reviews for both Burn Out and Strange Skies. Maybe you've even seen my book boyfriends post for James. I've also had the privilege of being able to interview Kristi Helvig herself. And yet, somehow (which is a completely mystery to me) these books are not getting the credit they are due. 

In my opinion, these books can stand out with the best of the dystopian sci-fi's that are out there right now. They are quick and fun reads. There is great world-building, diverse characters, and a hot leading male. What more can you ask for from YA books? 

5 comments:

  1. Hey, I tagged you in the Bookish Academy tag! :) http://theoverflowingshelf.blogspot.com/2015/07/bookish-academy-tag.html

    ReplyDelete
  2. Is their a third book? I really want to know!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. There will be a third book but it isn't out yet

      Delete
  3. I really appreciate the kind of topics you post here. Thanks for sharing us a great information that is actually helpful. Good day! 
    do assignment for me

    ReplyDelete