Wednesday, November 2, 2016

Waiting on Wednesday: Empress of a Thousand Skies by Rhoda Belleza


My TBR list is always growing and I thought it would be fun to share my anticipation for those books with all of you. This is not my own original meme; it belongs to Breaking the Spine. It specifically spotlights upcoming releases. As it implies in the title, I'll be posting this meme on Wednesdays. Please feel free to comment and let me know what books you guys are waiting on as well!


Empress of a Thousand Skies by Rhoda Belleza
Publisher: Razorbill
Pub. Date: February 7, 2016
Pre-order: Amazon | B&N | Book Depository
For fans of Marissa Meyer and Pierce Brown comes this epic sci-fi fantasy that Kiersten White, author of And I Darken, calls "dazzling--an adventure as sweeping in scope as the galaxies it spans!”

Empress
Rhee, also known as Crown Princess Rhiannon Ta’an, is the sole surviving heir to a powerful dynasty. She’ll stop at nothing to avenge her family and claim her throne.

Fugitive
Aly has risen above his war refugee origins to find fame as the dashing star of a holo-vision show. But when he’s falsely accused of killing Rhee, he's forced to prove his innocence to save his reputation – and his life.

Madman
With planets on the brink of war, Rhee and Aly are thrown together to confront a ruthless evil that threatens the fate of the entire galaxy.

Rhoda Belleza crafts a powerful saga of vengeance, warfare, and the true meaning of legacy in this exhilarating debut.
First of all, I need all of you to really stare at this cover, so you can fully absorb its complex gorgeousness. 

Now the first thing I love is that I think we're looking at an Asian MC, which is awesome.


Also, who isn't drawn in by "planets on the brink of war", a fugitive, and an empress being thrown together to save the galaxy?


Fortunately, I was able to get my hands on this one at NYCC so my waiting is actually short-lived but nevertheless I'm excited!

What do you guys think? Have you heard of this one? Is it on your TBR? Let me know ^_^



Rhoda Belleza was raised in Los Angeles, where she grew up writing XFiles fanfiction and stuffing her face with avocados. When she's not writing, Rhoda obsesses over nail art tutorials, watches kung fu movies, and sews together crooked things that pass for clothes. She's a children's editor at a publishing house and writes from a sunny Brooklyn apartment stuffed far too many bikes and far too many shoes. Empress of a Thousand Skies is her debut novel.
Connect with Rhoda: Twitter | Tumblr | Goodreads

32 comments:

  1. Haha, omg. I have this one also, I've looked at the cover and I still never noticed the girl inside the moon until now. xD Great pick, love, I hope we both love it!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I think a lot of people are missing it, hence why I'm making people stare at it! You are the second person, since I've posted this who's mentioned the girl in the moon now xD

      Thanks for stopping by, lovely <3

      Delete
  2. This sounds so great! I love science fiction! :)

    ReplyDelete
  3. Ooo the MC is Asian, I didn't know that! Now I'm even more psyched! And jebus, Rhoa Belleza is BEAUTIFUL.

    ReplyDelete
  4. Yes, I been eyeing this book since the beginning. The funny thing is that I'm not a huge Science Fiction reader. But for some reason this one just calls to me. Fingers crossed I'll like it.
    Btw I never notice the girl in the moon until now haha.
    Hope all is well, happy reading xoxo

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Same here, girl. I'm really picky when it comes to science fiction but when it's done right it sings. Hopefully, that's how this one will be.

      You're not the first person to tell me that since this post has gone up haha.

      Thanks for stopping by <3

      Delete
  5. Awesome choice! I haven't heard of this one and it sounds incredible! That cover is indeed gorgeous and I love that the MC is Asian. :) Thanks for bringing this one to my attention!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thank you, I'm glad I could introduce it to you!

      Delete
  6. This book sounds amazing! I am really intrigued by the planets on the brink of war! You are right that cover is truly incredible. I think that this might be one that I will really love! :)

    ReplyDelete
  7. Wow, that cover is brilliant! I hadn't heard of this book before but it sounds like it's going to be epic so thanks for spotlighting it :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. This cover is gorgeous, I love it. I'm so glad I introduced this book to you, I hope you love it!

      Delete
  8. I am excited to read this one too! Though I think I have about 45 books between now and this one. :D I hope you enjoy this book when you get a chance to read it!

    Thanks for visiting my blog! Have a great week, Brittany. =)

    Alyssa @ The Eater of Books!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I feel you but I'm lucky enough to be able to read this very soon, thanks to my reading schedule. I hope you get it to soon, too. Thanks for stopping by!

      Delete
  9. This does sound really good. I hope you enjoy reading it, Brittany. Thanks for stopping by My WoW earlier.

    ReplyDelete
  10. I love the cover of this book! It sounds so good and yay for Asian MC. It's gonna be epic!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. It's great, isn't it? I'm all for more Asian MCs!

      Thanks for stopping by!

      Delete
  11. I've never heard of this one but it sounds super interesting! Hope you love this one Brittany! :)

    Check out my Waiting On Wednesday!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Well, now you do, so I hope it's on your TBR!

      Thanks for stopping by!

      Delete
  12. Another new to me book. Thanks for sharing. :)

    ReplyDelete
  13. I think this is the first I'm hearing of this one! And it looks soo good. And you are correct, a beautiful cover! Thanks for sharing, and also thanks for visiting Lisa Loves Literature's WOW earlier!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Really? Well it's my pleasure to get you acquainted it! Thanks for stopping by!

      Delete
  14. Oh, I like the sound of this. I hope you get to read, and enjoy, it soon. Thanks for sharing, and for stopping by my WoW earlier. :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Sounds great, doesn't it?

      Thanks for stopping by!

      Delete
  15. I've seen it around Twitter but I had not read the synopsis until now. Sounds super amazing!!! And an Asian MC woohoo! ♥

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. It sounds awesome doesn't it? But truth be told, it had me at Asian MC haha. Thanks for stopping by, lovely<3

      Delete
  16. I must admit, I still haven't read this summary, haha :D I just keep looking at that gorgeous cover. <3 I shall wait until someone reviews it, before I decide if I wish to read it or not ;p Gorgeous pick Brittany. <3 I do hope you will love it lots :D (Also, sorry for being so behind on commenting. <3 I will fully catch up this month.)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I actually often don't read the full summary of books I want to read because they often give too much away. I actually did review this one, you might have seen it already though haha. I love it so much! And don't worry about it, I hope you're well!

      Delete