Wednesday, March 8, 2017

WoW: Forest of a Thousand Lanterns & Haunting the Deep

My TBR list is always growing and I thought it would be fun to share my anticipation for those books with all of you. This is not my own original meme; it belongs to Breaking the Spine. It specifically spotlights upcoming releases. As it implies in the title, I'll be posting this meme on Wednesdays. Please feel free to comment and let me know what books you guys are waiting on as well!




With so many amazing books out there I want to fangirl about, I've decided that instead of featuring only one book a week, I'm going to feature two! This way, I can make sure that I'm sharing even more fantastic books with all of you. I hope you enjoy it!


Publisher: Knopf Books for Young Readers
Pub. Date: October 3rd, 2017
Buy it: Amazon | B&N | Book Depository 
Samantha Mather knew her family’s connection to the infamous Salem Witch Trials might pose obstacles to an active social life. But having survived one curse, she never thought she’d find herself at the center of a new one.

This time, Sam is having recurring dreams about the Titanic . . . where she’s been walking the deck with first-class passengers, like her aunt and uncle. Meanwhile, in Sam’s waking life, strange missives from the Titanic have been finding their way to her, along with haunting visions of people who went down with the ship.

Ultimately, Sam and the Descendants, along with some help from heartthrob Elijah, must unravel who is behind the spell that is drawing her ever further into the dream ship . . . and closer to sharing the same grim fate as its ghostly passengers.
How to Hang a Witch was one of the best-hidden gems of 2016. If you guys missed out on how much I loved that book, check out my review here.

I have always been fascinated by what happened to the Titanic, and I'm curious to see what Sam and Elijah will uncover. I just hope it doesn't have a tragic end for my ship ;D


Also, I'm really hoping that a certain someone somehow revokes his "ghost" status in this story . . .



Adriana Mather is the 12th generation of Mathers in America, and as such her family has their fingers in many of its historical pies – the Mayflower, the Salem Witch Trials, the Titanic, the Revolutionary War, and the wearing of curly white wigs. Also, Adriana co-owns a production company, Zombot Pictures, in LA that has made three feature films in three years. Her first acting scene in a film ever was with Danny Glover, and she was terrified she would mess it up. In addition, her favorite food is pizza and she has too many cats.
Connect with Adriana: Website | Twitter



Publisher: Philomel Books/Penguin Random House
Pub. Date: October 10th, 2017
The Wrath and the Dawn meets Snow White and the Huntsman in this dark and mystical East Asian fantasy reimagining of The Evil Queen legend about one peasant girl's quest to become Empressand the darkness she must unleash to achieve her destiny.

Eighteen-year-old Xifeng is beautiful. The stars say she is destined for greatness, that she is meant to be Empress of Feng Lu. But only if she embraces the darkness within her. Growing up as a peasant in a forgotten village on the edge of the map, Xifeng longs to fulfill the destiny promised to her by her cruel aunt, the witch Guma, who has read the cards and seen glimmers of Xifeng's majestic future. But is the price of the throne too high?

Because in order to achieve greatness, she must spurn the young man who loves her and exploit the callous magic that runs through her veinssorcery fueled by eating the hearts of the recently killed. For the god who has sent her on this journey will not be satisfied until his power is absolute.

Set in an East Asian-inspired fantasy world filled with both breathtaking pain and beauty, Forest of a Thousand Lanterns possesses all the hallmarks of masterful fantasy: dazzling magic, heartbreaking romance, and a world that hangs in the balance. Fans of Heartless, Stealing Snow, and Red Queen will devour this stunning debut.

I feel as if I have been waiting for this book for my entire life. From the moment that the deal was announced, I knew that I wanted this book. 


I need more Asian-inspired fantasies in my life! And what's not to love about this one? Gods, witches, a crown, magic, and heartbreak? Sounds like the perfect book for me!


Julie C. Dao is a proud Vietnamese-American who was born in upstate New York. She studied medicine in college, but came to realize blood and needles were her Kryptonite. By day, she worked in science news and research; by night, she wrote books about heroines unafraid to fight for their dreams, which inspired her to follow her passion of becoming a published author. Forest of a Thousand Lanterns is her debut novel. Julie lives in New England. 
Connect with Julie: Website | Twitter | Instagram | Facebook | Tumblr | Pinterest | Wattpad

What about you guys? Are these books on your TBR? Is this the first time you're hearing about them? Let me know! 

33 comments:

  1. Both of these look amazing. I love books about the Titanic, it's always been something I've been fascinated with, too. And now I'm eager to go back and read the first book---and surprised to hear this is a continuation!
    I'm not a big fan of the cover for FoaTL, but man that synopsis sounds amazing!! SO many things about it. Definitely high on my want-list!!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Don't they? I can't wait to read them.

      I'm not a fan either but what's important is what's inside, right? ^_^

      Delete
  2. YESSS! Cannot wait to read Forest of a Thousand Lanterns!!! I just feel that it's going to be amazing and giver of all the feels ♥. I have not read How To Hang A Witch but I'm excited to learn that its sequel is coming out soon. Will try to read it soon before this one comes out!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Me too! I'm so excited to read it. I read the first chapter on Amazon and now I want it even more!! And you definitely need to read How to Hang a Witch, you'll love it!

      Delete
  3. Forest of a Thousand Lanterns is definitely one of my most anticipated reads this year. I hope we both love it! I haven't read How to Hang a Witch though, but the sequel does sound interesting indeed. I hope you enjoy it as much as the first one! :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Same for me!

      I hope you check out How to Hang a Witch!

      Delete
  4. OOooh nice picks! Both are new to me ones but I will have to keep an eye on them!

    Here's my WoW

    Have a GREAT day!

    Old Follower :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I'm glad I could introduce you to both of these titles. I hope you added them to your TBR!

      Delete
  5. It is the firs time I am hearing about Haunting the Deep but I heard about FOTL a couple of months ago? I adore the author and the book so I cannot wait for it to release. If only it wasn't so far away! Great pick though! :)

    Aneesa @ A Crave For Books

    ReplyDelete
  6. Both of these look and sound fabulous! I'll definitely be adding them to my tbr, so thanks for sharing!

    Here's my WOW/CWW

    ReplyDelete
  7. I too shall dance around in anticipation of FOTL!

    ReplyDelete
  8. Both of these look so good! I didn't realize the first one is a sequel or companion to How to Hang a Witch, which I still need to read! Great picks! Thanks for visiting my Wednesday post at Lisa Loves Literature earlier!

    ReplyDelete
  9. First of all.. I LOVE your blog layout. It's so pretty!!

    Forest of a Thousand Lanterns sounds so good. I feel like I rarely come across Asian-inspired YA too.

    Lauren @ bookslaying.com

    ReplyDelete
  10. LOVE THE POST BRITTANY! I can't wait to read these amazing books, I hope you like them when you read them <3

    ReplyDelete
  11. I didn't know Adriana Mather has another book and Titanic woahh! And Forest of a Thousand Lanterns is my most anticipated debut this year, can't wait!!! :D

    ReplyDelete
  12. I am so super excited for FOTL as well! This is the first time that I have heard of Haunting the Deep and I am very intrigued by it. I really enjoy anything to do with the Titanic story, too. Thanks so much for sharing another book to add to my TBR! :)

    ReplyDelete
  13. Ooh I had no idea she was doing a second book for Samantha. Nice. I liked How to Hang a Witch so this one has me curious, especially since it involves the Titanic. Would love for that ghost to come back as well, but I want Sam to have a steady and real relationship.
    Forest of a Thousand Lanterns sounds intriguing too. Hope you enjoy it :)

    Shane @ Itching for Books

    ReplyDelete
  14. HOLD ON!!! Witches + Titanic and also Chinese folklore (or is it East Asian in general?) anyway I'M ALL IN!

    ReplyDelete
  15. Both of these are new to me and both sound absolutely fabulous, so thanks for bringing them to my attention!

    ReplyDelete
  16. Those gifs are just the best! :D And somehow I hadn't heard of the books before but they sound really great! ♥

    ReplyDelete
  17. Wow! Both of these books sound interesting, especially Forest of a Thousand Lanterns! I hope you enjoy both of these books!

    Here’s my WoW!

    Ronyell @ Rabbit Ears Book Blog

    ReplyDelete
  18. Both of these sound really good. I haven't heard of them before, but I really want to read them now. Too bad the pub date is so far away.
    I hope we both love these when they come out :)
    Aneta @ Angelic Book Reviews 

    ReplyDelete
  19. I've not heard of the first one but I am looking forward to reading the second one! It sounds excellent and besides that, I love the light green cover. :D I hope you enjoy these books when you get the chance to read them, Brittany!

    Have a fabulous week. =)

    Alyssa @ The Eater of Books!

    ReplyDelete
  20. Both are beautiful covers. I'm going to give how to hang a witch a shot.
    My wow
    http://hauntedgravebooks.blogspot.com/2017/03/waiting-on-wednesday-end-of-oz-by.html

    ReplyDelete
  21. Forest of a Thousand Lanterns sounds AMAZING! And how beautiful is that cover!? GReAT choice!!

    ReplyDelete
  22. Wow i've never heard of these books but they look amazing! I'm also obsessed with Titanic! I also just read your review of How To Hang A Witch and it looks amazing!
    Kariny @kariny's boox frenzy

    ReplyDelete
  23. These both sound amazing!!!! Adding them to my TBR! :)

    ReplyDelete
  24. I love BOTH those covers, but especially Haunting the Deep. AMAZING cover!

    ReplyDelete
  25. Ahh, both covers are awesome :D Stunning picks this week Brittany. <3 I hope you will love them both oh so much :D

    ReplyDelete
  26. Both books sound pretty interesting! They're both new to me so thanks for highlighting them!

    ReplyDelete
  27. Both of these sound awesome and I'm glad you liked How to Hang a Witch so much because I bought a copy not too long ago. I'm super excited for the next one especially given the Titantic feel. I have to be honest though - that snake is SUPER creeping me out.

    ReplyDelete
  28. 'Haunting' sounds INTERESTING! What a unique way to (in some sense) retell the Titanic legend! :)

    ReplyDelete
  29. *SCREAMS*
    I CANNOT WAIT FOR FOREST OF A THOUSAND LANTERNS.
    I'm also quite intrigued by by Haunting the Deep! I haven't read How To Hang A Witch, but have seen absolutely great things about it. Eep, I'll keep my eye out for this one. :D

    - Aila @ Happy Indulgence

    ReplyDelete