Monday, June 19, 2017

The Color Project by Sierra Abrams: Q&A!



Publisher: Gatekeeper Press
Pub Date: July 18th, 2017
Buy it: Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository
Bernice Aurora Wescott has one thing she doesn't want anyone to know: her name. That is, until Bee meets Levi, the local golden boy who runs a charity organization called The Color Project.

Levi is not at all shy about attempting to guess Bee’s real name; his persistence is one of the many reasons why Bee falls for him. But while Levi is everything she never knew she needed, giving up her name would feel like a stamp on forever. And that terrifies her.

When unexpected news of an illness in the family drains Bee's summer of everything bright, she is pushed to the breaking point. Losing herself in The Color Project—a world of weddings, funerals, cancer patients, and hopeful families that the charity funds—is no longer enough. Bee must hold up the weight of her family, but to do that, she needs Levi. She’ll have to give up her name and let him in completely or lose the best thing that’s ever happened to her.

For fans of Stephanie Perkins and Morgan Matson, THE COLOR PROJECT is a story about the three great loves of life—family, friendship, and romance—and the bonds that withstand tragedy.


At 7 years old, Sierra Abrams decided that one day she would publish a book. For over a decade, in between exploring other career options, she kept coming back to that very first dream. Now her life consists of writing books of all kinds... Kissing books, angsty books, killing books, whimsical books, and sometimes books that are all of the above. When she's not writing, you can find her reading, traveling, consuming sushi, or daydreaming about Henry Cavill.
Connect with Sierra: Website | Twitter | Instagram | Facebook


What's your writing process like? Do you have any fun or unique habits? 

My writing process, for the last year and a half, has been insanely sporadic. I used to write every day - and be able to marathon write thousands of words - but lately I've been only able to write random days during the week, depending on what's on the schedule. And I generally am a very boring writer - no rituals, no system. I do whatever I need to do that day to get the words on paper.


What are your favorite and least favorite types of scenes to write? 

My favorite scenes to write are always kissing scenes. Every time I write one, I feel like I can write anything. It's always a reward to go through all the pre-romance stuff and get to the fun stuff. ;)
And I can't say I have a least favorite, weirdly enough. Maybe transition scenes? But even those aren't too annoying.


Who are some writers you'd love to collaborate with? 

Oh God. Maggie Stiefvater is my favorite writer in the world, so definitely her (even though my brain is screaming that she'd destroy me with her writing prowess within 5 seconds). In the contemporary genre, I'd love to collaborate with Stephanie Perkins, who wrote my favorite contemporary novel of all time - LOLA AND THE BOY NEXT DOOR.


Who is a fictional character that you relate to the most, and why? 

I most relate to Lola from LOLA AND THE BOY NEXT DOOR, and Lucy from THE HATING GAME. They both had this wild, unrestricted side to them, a dorky personality, and a lot of passion. And they give 100% to the things they loved most, which is something that I both love and hate about myself.


What inspired you to write this book? 

So many things, honestly, but it started out as a single paragraph that burst from my mind like Athena from Zeus's head. It was a little paragraph describing how I feel about sunsets, and I thought, "Hmm. Maybe one day I'll stop writing fantasy and start writing contemporary." One year later, that paragraph became the opening paragraph of THE COLOR PROJECT. It still is, even in the final draft.


Do you have any favorite fictional couples/OTPs, and what about them makes you love them so much? 

My favorite fictional couples are:
Blue/Gansey (The Raven Cycle) - for their delicious chemistry and natural way of existing around each other.
Feyre/Rhysand (ACOTAR series) - for the way they'd sacrifice everything for each other.
Mac/Barrons (Fever series) - for the slow burn feels, and for the depth of their passion, and how badly I needed to read a romance like theirs.


What are some of your favorite and least favorite tropes in books? 

Favorites: hate-to-love, road trips, lists, and any kind of sacrifice.
Least favorites: I've been contemplating for a long time and....I'm not sure I have any! :O


If you could travel anywhere (all expenses paid) for writing inspiration, where would you go and why?

Oh my GOODNESS. This would be the dream. I'd choose Russia, because I have at least two story ideas and one already written story that are Russian inspired and/or have scenes set in Russia. I've wanted to go to Russia since I was 14 and read Dostoevsky's THE IDIOT.



Thank you so much for this wonderful interview, Sierra! :)


Monday, June 19 
  
Tuesday, June 20 
Excerpt of The Color Project - The YA Book Traveler
Review - The Hermit Librarian   

Wednesday, June 21 
Review - YA and Wine

Thursday, June 22 
Review - Avd Reader
DIY: The Color Project Bookmarks - Lois Reads Books 

Friday, June 23 
Excerpt of The Color Project - The Reader & The Chef
Mini Review & Favorite Quotes - The Life Of A Book Nerd Addict

Saturday, June 24 
Mood Board - Wonderfully Bookish 

Sunday, June 25 
  
Monday, June 26 
Ways To Support Your Favorite Causes - Tales Of The Ravenous Reader 
Review - InkDin

Tuesday, June 27
Interview - Brooke-Reports

Wednesday, June 28
Book Hangover  - Fables and Fae
Guest Post - Tiff the book nerd

Thursday, June 29

Friday, June 30
Creative Post - Lost In Ever After

Saturday, July 1st
Mood Board - Heres To Happy Endings
Interview - A New Look On Books

8 comments:

  1. Great interview! I love that Sierra loves Lola and the Boy Next Door & Stephanie Perkins because they are also my favorite. Wish I could say I am like Lola, though! Thanks for sharing this with us. And yay for The Color Project! ❤️

    ReplyDelete
  2. Ohh, pretty cover :D And awesome interview too. <3 Thank you for sharing about this book Brittany :) It do sound pretty interesting.

    ReplyDelete
  3. It's a new one to me. What a pretty cover! Thanks for the giveaway too (:

    ReplyDelete
  4. Nice interview! I can't wait for The Color Project, it looks so cute! <3 Also that cover *heart eyes*

    anna | annaish

    ReplyDelete
  5. You ask the most creative questions! I love that Sierra would go to Russia! I think that would be the perfect place to gather writing inspiration. :)

    ReplyDelete
  6. I don't know if I'll get around to reading this one, but it definitely sounds like one I'll try to get for the school library where I work. Love the first interview question about writing habits.

    ReplyDelete
  7. I just got this book and am super excited to read it! I've heard amazing things, and Sierra Abrams is such a sweet person!

    ReplyDelete