Sunday, September 10, 2017

Speak Easy, Speak Love Book Trailer, Q&A + Giveaway!


Hey, everyone! I have the pleasure to have McKelle George on the blog today to share the book trailer for Speak Easy, Speak Love, plus an interview with the author herself! I hope you guys enjoy!




Publisher: Greenwillow Books/HarperCollins Publisher
Pub. Date: September 19, 2017
Six teenagers’ lives intertwine during one thrilling summer full of romantic misunderstandings and dangerous deals in this sparkling retelling of Shakespeare’s Much Ado About Nothing.

After she gets kicked out of boarding school, seventeen-year-old Beatrice goes to her uncle’s estate on Long Island. But Hey Nonny Nonny is more than just a rundown old mansion. Beatrice’s cousin, Hero, runs a struggling speakeasy out of the basement—one that might not survive the summer.

Along with Prince, a poor young man determined to prove his worth; his brother, John, a dark and dangerous agent of the local mob; Benedick, a handsome trust-fund kid trying to become a writer; and Maggie, a beautiful and talented singer; Beatrice and Hero throw all their efforts into planning a massive party to save the speakeasy. Despite all their worries, the summer is beautiful, love is in the air, and Beatrice and Benedick are caught up in a romantic battle of wits that their friends might be quietly orchestrating in the background.

Hilariously clever and utterly charming, McKelle George’s debut novel is full of intrigue and 1920s charm. For fans of Jenny Han, Stephanie Perkins, and Anna Godbersen.




McKelle George is a reader, editor, perpetual doodler, and associate librarian at the best library in the world. She mentors with Salt Lake Teen Writes and plays judge for the Poetry Out Loud teen competitions (but has no poetic talent herself). Her debut young adult novel Speak Easy, Speak Love comes out from Greenwillow/HarperCollins in 2017, and she currently lives in Salt Lake City with an enormous white german shepherd and way, way too many books.
Connect with McKelle: Website | Twitter | Facebook | Pinterest


What is your favorite speakeasy, and why?


Wow, great question. I'm going to go with the 300 Club. Texas Guinan ("Hello suckers!") was one of the first female emcees. Upon the introduction of Prohibition, she opened a speakeasy called the 300 Club at 151 W. 54th Street in New York City (1920).


Is Much Ado About Nothing your favorite Shakespeare comedy (by the way, it's definitely mine)? What are your other favorite plays of his? Would you ever want to write another retelling based on these plays?

Mine too! Ha ha, obviously. My other favorites are:
  1. Much Ado About Nothing (obviously)
  2. The Tempest
  3. The Taming of the Shrew
  4. The Merchant of Venice
  5. Titus Andronicus
  6. Henry the IV, Part I
  7. Twelfth Night
  8. Macbeth
  9. King Lear
  10. Midsummer's Night Dream
And I definitely would! I'm actually working a magical realism version of The Tempest, in fact.

What other stories would you like to write a retelling for, if any?

I would really love to see/write a YA version of Rebecca, and Agatha Christie's And Then There Were None.

What was your biggest challenge when you were writing Speak Easy, Speak Love?

Adapting the play: specifically, finding the balance between walking too close to the original and where to stray away from it. How to be original yet not lose the spirit of the play. How to adapt problematic things that don't translate to a modern reader, etc.
What are your favorite and least favorite tropes to read?

I am, obviously, a big fan of the hate to love trope. I also am kind of a sucker for the misunderstood villain who has one soft spot (also found in Speak Easy, Speak Love). My least favorite tropes are insta-love and the Only Complex Female Character is Great Because of Solely Male Characteristics. Also this is purely personal taste, but I'm getting a little tired of constantly and overtly gorgeous people. Can't someone have a zit just once and still save the world?
Would you ever consider writing under a pseudonym? 

I think so! I like my name, of course, but publishing is slow and sometimes pseudonyms can help you get around contractual waiting.
What are your favorite and least favorite scenes to write?

The hardest scenes for me to write are the ones that have to do a lot of emotional and plot work at once: trying to figure out how not to be over the top and also keep the pace up. I also don't love fighty-action scenes. I do love witty bantering and kissing. (:

What's next for you? Are you working on something new? Can you share anything about it with us?

I'm working on that Tempest retelling I mentioned, and also a dieslpunk reimagining of the Arthurian legend. (:


a Rafflecopter giveaway

FTC Disclaimer: Giveaway provided by McKelle George. Brittany's Book Rambles received no compensation for this post. US entries only.

30 comments:

  1. Awesome trailer, thanks for sharing! (:

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. My pleasure! I hope you check out Speak Easy, Speak Love!

      Delete
  2. I knew about this book, but I honestly didn't know there was a trailer, and how original it is!
    I love Shakespeare, when I was a teen I would read his plays quite a lot and my mum even took me to see Macbeth and King Lear at the theatre. My personal fave remains Othello, though, but I think it's easy to get inspired by many (if not all) of his works, and I'm curious to see how this book plays out ;)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. This is the launch of the trailer so that makes sense! I love Othello, it's probably my favorite of his dramas but of his comedies it's definitely Much Ado about Nothing. I hope you added this one to your TBR, it sounds perfect for you!

      Delete
  3. I was privileged to get a sneak peek at one of George's chapters at a writing conference years ago, and thought her writing was remarkable. Thanks for the post! I look forward to getting the book!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Really? That's awesome, I'm so jealous ^_^ I hope you enjoy the rest of the book!

      Delete
  4. Ohh, awesome promo post Brittany :D Not really heard of this one before now. But ahh, I like that cover a bunch :D Might have to check it out more, hih. <3

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thank you! I'm glad you know about it now, I hope you love it!

      Delete
  5. Oh my god, I'm so excited that she's working on a dieslpunk reimagining of the Arthurian legend. :D

    ReplyDelete
  6. I'm looking forward to this book! I am a big Shakespeare fan and even visited the incredibly beautiful vineyard/estate in Tuscany where the Branagh/Thompson Much Ado About Nothing was filmed.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. As am I! I was one of the few that didn't mind studying it in school AND was the focus of what I studied in college. And that's amazing about your visit to the location of where Much Ado About Nothing was filmed.

      Thanks for stopping by!

      Delete
  7. I need this book in my life more than ever after seeing that trailer! Thanks so much for hosting a giveaway :)

    ReplyDelete
  8. Interesting! Thanks for sharing :-)

    ReplyDelete
  9. Loved loved loved this book! I just finished reading it last night and it was such an amazing retelling and unique setting! The writing was absolutely gorgeous and I can't wait to own it!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I've heard nothing but great things about it so I'm so glad that you enjoyed it! I need to read it soon ^_^

      Delete
  10. I actually just finished this book last week! I was expecting to like it, but I wasn't expecting to love it as much as I did. Beatrice is such a great main character. The book trailer is great - I feel like it really captures it. And I'm super excited to hear about her current project focusing on the The Tempest. Thanks for sharing, Brittany!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. That's great! This book sounds so cute and fun, I can't wait to read it. So glad you enjoyed it!

      Delete
  11. These are such interesting questions! I really loved reading the interview. This book is on my list to check out, but I haven't gotten around to it just yet! Thank you for sharing!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thank you, glad you enjoyed it! I hope you love Speak Easy, Speak Love ^_^

      Delete
  12. I just finished Speak Easy, Speak Love last week and loved it! The setting and the way George adapted the play were both brilliantly done. Love the book trailer, and reading the Q&A answers was also super fun!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Yay, I'm so glad that you enjoy it! Thanks for stopping by~

      Delete
  13. Love the trailer! I'm so happy this book will finally be out in a few days :)
    Thanks for sharing Brittany!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. It's super cute, right? I hope you love Speak Easy, Speak Love!

      Delete
  14. The last sentence of the synopsis confirms that I will love reading this book! The cover is fabulous and I adore the idea of this novel. Reading this will be part of my debut author challenge.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. That's great, I hope Speak Easy, Speak Love meets all of your expectations!

      Delete
  15. I liked the idea of this, but wasn't sure if I was going to read it, but now I'm pretty sure it sounds like one I need to get soon. Thanks for the giveaway as well!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I think you need it, Lisa! I hope you enjoy it, and good luck on the giveaway ^_^

      Delete