Friday, February 26, 2016

Blog Tour: Interview with Melissa Gorzelanczyk, author of Arrows


Hello, my lovelies! Today, I have Melissa Gorzelanczyk on our blog today for a quick Q&A and some info about her book. This post is also part of the ARROWS scavenger hunt so be on the look out for the hidden quote so you can enter in the giveaway!


Melissa Gorzelanczyk is a former magazine editor and columnist who loves strong coffee, live music, and arrow jewelry. She lives in Green Bay, Wisconsin, with her husband and two teenage children, one of whom is named after a Greek goddess.
Author Links: Website | Twitter | Instagram | FB


Arrows by Melissa Gorzelanczyk
Published by Delacorte Press
Publication Date: January 26, 2016
Buy it: Amazon | Barnes & Noble
A modern cupid story set in present-day Wisconsin combining the fantastical elements of Greek mythology with the contemporary drama of MTV's Teen Mom.

People don’t understand love. If they did, they’d get why dance prodigy Karma Clark just can’t say goodbye to her boyfriend, Danny. No matter what he says or does or how he hurts her, she can’t stay angry with him . . . and can’t stop loving him. But there’s a reason why Karma is helpless to break things off: she’s been shot with a love arrow.

Aaryn, son of Cupid, was supposed to shoot both Karma and Danny but found out too late that the other arrow in his pack was useless. And with that, Karma’s life changed forever. One pregnancy confirmed. One ballet scholarship lost. And dream after dream tossed to the wind.

A clueless Karma doesn’t know that her toxic relationship is Aaryn’s fault . . . but he’s going to get a chance to make things right. He’s here to convince Danny to man up and be there for Karma. But what if this god from Mount Olympus finds himself falling in love with a beautiful dancer from Wisconsin who can never love him in return?

This fast-paced debut novel explores the internal & external conflicts of a girl who finds herself inexplicably drawn to a boy who seemingly doesn't reciprocate her feelings, touching on the issues of love, sex and responsibility, with a heroine struggling to control her destiny--perfect for fans of Katie McGarry's novels and MTV’s 16 and Pregnant.

How do you deal with outside factors affecting your writing time?

Melissa: The most distracting thing about being a writer is the other half of the job: marketing. To stay in writer-mode, I don't turn on my phone until I've reached a goal like write all morning, or finish a chapter or scene.

What are the most enjoyable and least enjoyable types of scenes for you to write?

Melissa: I avoid conflict by nature, so the least enjoyable scenes to write are those where I have to "go there" with an emotion--for example, anger that turns to violence. At the same time, those turn out to be the most enjoyable because I feel invigorated and free. It's a safe way to explore extremes.

What was your most memorable moment on your journey to becoming an author?

Melissa: Probably the day my contract arrived in the mail from Random House. I was relaxing on my deck when my stepson walked out with an envelope and said, "This came for you." Having a book in the world is a dream come true, but being paid for something you once only dreamed of doing is a whole other level of validity. That was a proud moment! My hand was shaking when I signed it.
Scavenger Hunt: You know how it feels to be loved 
If you could travel to anywhere in the world (in any time period) where would you go for inspiration?

Melissa: I love the white noise of the ocean. Bring me there! Also, I'm a Pisces.

If you could pick one fictional character to be your Valentine, who would it be and why?

Melissa: Aaryn from Arrows, without a doubt! He has so many qualities of my real-life true love, Shea. And I always pictured his character to look like musician Kosta Martakis. (Will hold while you search that.)

Brittany: Thank you, Melissa, for doing this interview with me and for stopping by the blog today!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

1 comment:

  1. They are the value supporters of our nation training makes a man stable in his life instruction gets a considerable measure changes our identity or as a part of our identity we should receive identity things as a part of our identity as opposed to other terrible things.

    ReplyDelete