Image Map Image Map

Sunday, September 28, 2014

Book Bucket List: The Chronicles of Narnia by C. S. Lewis

There are books in your life that you come across and you know you have to read them. They can be old, they can be new but before your time runs out you have to find time to read them. Welcome to my Book Bucket List everyone!

Synopsis of The Lion, Witch, and the Wardrobe: The Lion, the Witch & the Wardrobe, completed in the winter of 1949 & published in 1950, tells the story of four ordinary children: Peter, Susan, Edmund & Lucy Pevensie. They discover a wardrobe in Prof. Digory Kirke's house that leads to the magical land of Narnia, which is currently under the spell of a witch. The four children fulfill an ancient, mysterious prophecy while in Narnia. The Pevensie children help Aslan (the Turkish word for lion) & his army save Narnia from the evil White Witch, who's reigned over the Narnia in winter for 100 years.

This edition follows the original numbering scheme. Recent publishers have renumbered the volumes so they are ordered chronologically. This was reportedly the author's preference. Other editions number this book as 2.

Why it's on my Bucket List:

I have feel that I have missed out during my childhood in not reading these books. When Harry Potter was still new (I was in Elementary School) I was too obsessed to be really drawn into any other series. It felt like I was cheating on Harry, Ron, and Hermione. Maybe that doesn't make sense, but I was little so cut me some slack. Anyway, I have heard over and over again about how amazing the world of Narnia is, and how great the stories are. It's because I have read Harry Potter and loved it that many people have told me that I will love Narnia. I have even avoided seeing the movies because I know that this series is a real literary treasure and I didn't want my thoughts or feelings towards it to be influenced in any way.

No comments:

Post a Comment