Tuesday, April 21, 2015

Strange Skies (Burn Out #2) by Kristi Helvig Review


4.5/5 Stars
Details of the book:
Hardcover, 263 pages
Published by EgmontUSA
Publication Date: April 28, 2015

Synopsis: Action, adventure, and romance are heating up in this sequel to the futuristic science fiction thriller Burn Out. Perfect for fans of Across the Universe and The Memory of After.
Caelia is the new Earth. That's what the Consulate told everyone and, against all odds, Tora finally has made it there. She can't see the ocean from her cell in the Consulate's containment center, and she doesn't know what happened to the weapons her father died for and she's risked her life to save.

But as she plans her escape, she runs into the last person she ever expected to see-her dad. The Consulate has kept held him prisoner in a complicated plot designed to lure Tora out of hiding. Now Tora has a new purpose: break free, get the guns, and save her father.

But first she'll have to navigate a strange new planet, track down James (whose loyalties still remain questionable), and find Kale…before he finds her first.

An action-packed and sexy sequel to Burn Out. It keeps the same fast-pace that started Tora's journey and it seems that these characters can never catch a break. Tora continues to be a badass and I love her so much. This book is officially released in 7 days and I'm already dying for the third book. I had some minor problems with Strange Skies but nothing that I couldn't overlook. I am ecstatic that my suspicions about James were right but that's the only spoilery thing I will say about this book. If you haven't already picked up this trilogy, do it now!

Strengths/Likes:

1) Tora is such a badass character. I adore and idolize her. She's so fierce and sarcastic but still relatable. 

2) James is still smokin' hot. You guys can absolutely expect a book boyfriend post about him soon. 

3) In general, I thought that all of the characters were pretty well-developed. Especially considering how short this book is. 

4) I can't tell you how much I love how snarky this book is. It has really sarcastic moments that I just find charming and hilarious.

5) I loved all of the details of Caliea and the characters reactions to things we frequently take for granted. It was so pleasant and wonderful that it made me want to spend more time outdoors. 

Weakness/Dislikes:

1) I actually have a final copy of this novel. Meaning it's not an ARC, I have a finished hardcover copy and I noticed a couple editing mistakes. Such as words with no space in-between them or a word that was misspelled. It wasn't a lot at all but it still bothered me. 

2) I had this problem with the first book, I wish that it was longer. I think that the relationships would be better developed and us readers would just have more to love

Favorite Quotes/Moments:

1) "She certainly seems to like you."

James moved quickly through the trees. "Yeah. Dumb dog, huh?"

I smirked. "You said it, not me."

2) "That's better than no life, ├íngel," Alec argued. 

James gritted his teeth. "Stop calling her that already. Her name is Tora."

Alec folded his arms across his chest. "Like I'd ever forget the name of the ángel who rescued me from certain death in Sector Two. I'll call her what I want. At least I follow through on my promises to her."

James took a step toward Alec with this fist clenched. "I'm going to shut you up if you can't do it yourself--that's a promise I know I can keep."

3) "Do you listen to anything I say?" James asked in a low voice.

"Only when it's not sexist. Are you kidding me with the whole 'saving the women and dog' thing?"

4) "Whatever happened to B.K. after you shot me with it?"

James looked at me like I was a petulant child. "Haven't we been over this? I never shot you with B.K. I only shot you with my gun."

I crossed my arms. "It never sounds good when you start a sentence with 'I only shot you with...'"

I hope you guys liked this one. Stay tuned for an upcoming Q&A with Kristi Helvig herself.

2 comments: