Wednesday, September 20, 2017

Waiting on Wednesday: The Tombs & The Wren Hunt

My TBR list is always growing and I thought it would be fun to share my anticipation for those books with all of you. This is not my own original meme; it belongs to Breaking the Spine. It specifically spotlights upcoming releases. As it implies in the title, I'll be posting this meme on Wednesdays. Please feel free to comment and let me know what books you guys are waiting on as well!

This week, I have the two perfect books to ring in the Autumn season for you guys!




The Tombs by Deborah Schaumberg
Publisher: HarperTeen
Expected Pub. Date: February 20, 2018
Buy Links: Amazon | Barnes and Noble | Book Depository
Gangs of New York meets Cassandra Clare in this debut YA fantasy set in 1882 Brooklyn

New York, 1882. A dark, forbidding city, and no place for a girl with unexplainable powers.

Sixteen-year-old Avery Kohl pines for the life she had before her mother was taken. She fears the mysterious men in crow masks who locked her mother in the Tombs asylum for being able to see what others couldn’t. Avery denies the signs in herself, focusing instead on her shifts at the ironworks factory and keeping her inventor father out of trouble. Other than secondhand tales of adventure from her best friend, Khan, an ex-slave, and caring for her falcon, Seraphine, Avery spends her days struggling to survive.

Like her mother’s, Avery’s powers refuse to be contained. When she causes a bizarre explosion at the factory, she has no choice but to run from her lies, straight into the darkest corners of the city. Avery must embrace her abilities and learn to wield their power—or join her mother in the cavernous horrors of the Tombs. And the Tombs has secrets of its own: strange experiments are being performed on “patients”…and no one knows why.

Whenever I hear about a fantasy YA set in New York City, it will automatically catch my attention. I'm definitely a biased New Yorker, but I am always excited to read more books set in my city!


Also, this book sounds perfectly creepy for the Fall season!


Originally from Brooklyn, I grew up renovating old houses with my family. My father and I would walk the rooms, floor-by-floor; making up stories filled with dark secrets, monsters, and of course, ghosts. I developed a love of history and fantasy, and went on to study architecture in New Orleans – a city saturated with crumbling plantations, creepy cemeteries, and tales of voodoo magic.

It was on a trek in Nepal that I imagined a girl with the ability to see energy, and I wondered, what if she could affect this energy? The seed of THE TOMBS was planted. While working as an architect, I remained faithfully buried in books, and began to write. In writing, I discovered an unparalleled outlet for my vivid and admittedly weird imagination. I love dreaming up worlds, and imagining past the confines of what real blueprints can hold.

I live with my family and two dogs in Maryland, just outside DC, I collect old bottles, and my favorite holiday is, you guessed it, Halloween. I also love to draw, especially silhouettes – in fact, I drew the illustrations for this website. Thank you for visiting!
Connect with Deborah: Website | Twitter | Instagram | Facebook



Publisher: Bloomsbury Children's USA
Expected Pub. Date: March 6th, 2018
Buy Links: Amazon | Book Depository
Thrilling and atmospheric, this lyrically written YA debut about feuding magical families is perfect for readers of Maggie Stiefvater.

Every Christmas, Wren is chased through the woods near her isolated village by her family's enemies—the Judges—and there’s nothing that she can do to stop it. Once her people, the Augurs, controlled a powerful magic. But now that power lies with the Judges, who are set on destroying her kind for good.

In a desperate bid to save her family, Wren takes a dangerous undercover assignment—as an intern to an influential Judge named Cassa Harkness. Cassa has spent her life researching a transformative spell, which could bring the war between the factions to its absolute end. Caught in a web of deceit, Wren must decide whether or not to gamble on the spell and seal the Augurs’ fate.

This captivating fantasy from an award-winning author is perfect for fans of The Raven Cycle and Wink Poppy Midnight.

Nothing says Christmas like being chased through the woods by your enemies haha.



And while I didn't enjoy The Raven Cycle or read Wink Poppy Midnight, I have a good feeling about this one and I can't wait to read it!


I grew up in Cape Town where I worked as an art museum custodian, library assistant, actress in children's musicals, front-of-house duty manager, and university lecturer. My doctorate was in film studies and I've always been obsessed with stories.

I attempted my first book (with illustrations) when I was five. At sixteen, I had a vivid dream about a girl and her father who walked a magic garden, hiding an awful secret. This grew into a collection of connected short stories, Moss (Kwela, 2004) which I wrote under the mentorship of André Brink at the University of Cape Town. I was awarded the Caine Prize in 2006. My second book, The Cutting Room (Penguin South Africa, 2013), is about ghosts, sort of, and crime.

In 2008, I moved to Galway, Ireland. After The Cutting Room, I knew I wanted to write a fantasy book. When my youngest child was born, I found reading YA books kept me awake during the long nights. I was lost in stories of brave girls. Of magic worlds and dystopias, zombies and vampires, queens and assassins while (almost) everyone around me slept. It was here that the first seeds of The Wren Hunt were planted.
Connect with Mary: Website | Twitter | Instagram | Tumblr

What do you guys think? What Autumn reads are you looking forward to? Are these two on your TBR? Is this the first time you're hearing about them? Let me know! 

30 comments:

  1. Haven´t read the author´s yet or seen those books, but the cover do look amazing. Hope you´ll enjoy. Thanks for sharing *smile*
    My WoW

    Best wishes
    Vi @Inkvotary

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I hope you added them on to your TBR! Thanks for stopping by~

      Delete
  2. "Gangs of New York meets Cassandra Clare in this debut YA fantasy set in 1882 Brooklyn" SAY NO MORE! The Wren Hunt sounds amazing as well. Love the cover!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. RIGHT?! How could any one not be interested with that hook? I hope you added them both to your TBR!

      Delete
  3. I don't really think these books would be for me, ack, but I'm sort of curious even so :D Will have to see some reviews, to be sure if I wish to read them or not ;) Lovely picks, though, Brittany. <3 I do hope you will end up loving them both oh so much :D

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. But you never know! Waiting for reviews is a good idea though but I hope you check them out ^_^

      Delete
  4. These both sound amazing, especially The Tombs since I'm always interested in books set in New York. I'm just going to sit here and stare at those gorgeous covers for a while...

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. As am I! I love NYC ^___^ And totally don't blame you for just wanting to stare at the covers haha

      Delete
  5. "The Tombs" has stolen my bookish heart -and the cover is so pretty. Why is February so far away?! :´( I really can't wait to get my hands on it.

    Tânia @MyLovelySecret

    Halloween Book Bingo

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Time will fly! Plus there are many great books for us to spend our time with until then!

      Delete
  6. The Wren Heart sounds so good!! I can't wait to get my hands on it.
    Thanks for introducing me to it.
    I hope you enjoy both books when you get around to reading them :)
    Here is my WOW 

    ReplyDelete
  7. *adds books to TBR* I hope you love these boos when you read them! They sound amazing, can’t wait to read them, I’m intrigued!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I hope so too, they both sound wonderful and perfect for me. Hopefully, we both love them ^_^

      Delete
  8. I'm super excited for both of these---broke my heart when I found out Wren Hunt had a pushed-back release date! But hopefully it will be worth the wait. And Tombs sounds so cool---the time setting, crow masks, creepy asylums, mother-daughter story...I'm in! ;D

    ♥Becky
    Stories & Sweeties

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I had no idea that The Wren Hunt's pub. date was pushed back already but I'm sure it was for a good reason! And I'm really excited for the The Tombs, it sounds perfect for me. Hopefully we both love them!

      Delete
  9. Psh, autumn? It's 90 degrees where I am! It hurts. I feel like I don't really connect to 19th century New York "underground" settings but this one sounds interesting to me!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Same here, but I'm hoping I can will it to get here. I hope you give The Tombs a shot!

      Delete
  10. Oh both look so good. I hope you get them.

    Autumn? Love the gif and I can't believe it is that time already!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thank you, I hope I do too!

      I really love this gif, if only the weather would cooperate with the season haha.

      Delete
  11. Oooh! Both books sound interesting! Love the Nightmare Before Christmas pic! Great picks!


    Here’s my WoW!

    Ronyell @ Rabbit Ears Book Blog

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I hope you added them both to your TBR. Thanks for stopping by!

      Delete
  12. Ok. Both of these books have me very intrigued! I have to agree with you on books set in NY. They always catch my attention as well. The Wren Hunt is new to me and I think it sounds like one that I will enjoy as well. Thanks for sharing these. :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Same here, everything in New York is usually awesome in my opinion. I hope both of these are on your TBR!

      Delete
  13. Oh I love me some nice atmospheric and slightly creepy reads to read during fall and these both sound perfect! Will definitely be checking these out!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Same here! Just as long as it's not too scary but we'll have to see! Thanks for stopping by~

      Delete
  14. Oh my word these both look amazing! Adding them to my TBR right now :) Thanks for sharing, Brittany.

    Here's my WoW

    Amy @ A Magical World Of Words

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Don't they? I'm really excited for them!

      Thanks for stopping by~

      Delete
  15. Oh wow, all these covers are gorgeous! I especially love the one for The Tombs. These are honestly so fitting for the upcoming Halloween season. :D I haven't read Wink Poppy Midnight because it didn't seem like my type of book, but the Wren Hunt just sounds ominous and thrilling.

    Awesome picks Brittany!

    - Aila @ One Way Or An Author

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I also haven't read Wink Poppy Midnight because it didn't seem right for me AND I heard mixed things about it. Both of these books have stunning covers, and I hope we both enjoy them ^_^

      Delete